Mount Fuji and surfers - Miko


2021 Programme 

We're still here with the same full programme as every year!

New members and interested guests always welcome. Interested in one of the lectures below? Email info@southgatephoto.org.uk and join us in a meeting

talks, workshops, competitions, (maybe) walks and social evenings.


Digital competitions in the first half, in the hope that we can do print competitions later. The usual inter-club competitions are assumed, subject to the host club proceeding. Expect more changes than usual, so watch this space and our Facebook page.

Until further notice, meetings will be via Zoom on Tuesdays at 8pm,

(note there are some exceptions - check below). 


Programme Changes

March 2nd:  Informal Members' Competition

with two themes - "Doors" and "Puddles".

(previously scheduled for April 27th).


April 27th: Outdoor night photography with light-painting

(lockdown rules permitting)


Last updated February 20th 2021

Tue 5 Jan The PAGB FIAP Distinctions Portfolio - Members review the best entries for FIAP distinctions from  the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain 
Tue 12 Jan Arctic Foxes in Iceland - Bob Johnson ARPS. Photographic talk by a master wildlife photographer
Tue 19 Jan Digital Competition 1 - "People" - Micki Aston CPAGB
Tue 26 Jan Annual General Meeting and social evening
Tue 2 Feb Digital Competition 2 - No set theme - Naomi Saul ARPS DPAGB ASINWP EFIAP
Fri 5 Feb Battle with Hertford & District Camera Club - Lloyd Moore CPAGB BPE3. Southgate competes against HDCC - 30 digital images each
Tue 9 Feb Astronomy Photography Talk - Nik Szymanek. Nik returns for the second half of his very popular talk from last year on making astronomical images 
Tue 16 Feb Portraiture & Studio Lighting - Panikos Hajistilly. Talk by an award-winning local professional photographer.
Tue 23 Feb Digital Competition 3: 2021 Theme - "Macro & Tabletop" - Malcolm Rapier ARPS CPAGB EFIAP/b BPE5
Tue 2 Mar Informal in-house competition with 2 themes: "Doors" and "Puddles"
Tue 9 Mar Session moved to Thu 11 and shared with Lee Valley club
Thu 11 Mar Steve & Ann Toon Safaris at Lee Valley Club. Illustrated lecture
Tue 16 Mar Digital Competition 4 - Best Creative image - Chris Forster DPAGB FBPE MFIAP (Shurety Trophy)
Thu 18 Mar Enfield Club - Camera Craft Cup - Digital Competition among seven local clubs - Colin Southgate FRPS
Tue 23 Mar Session moved to Thu 25 and shared with Lee Valley club
Thu 25 Mar Sue Flood - a travel and wildlife photographer, gives a talk hosted by Lee Valley Club
Tue 30 Mar History of Portraiture - illustrated lecture by Dr Tom Peck
Tue 6 Apr Digital Competition 5 - Best British Wildlife image  - Ron Tear ARPS MPAGB PSA3 BPE5 (Harrison Shield)
Tue 13 Apr  
Tue 20 Apr Natural Light in Landscape Photography - an illustrated talk by - Nigel Forster
Tue 27 Apr Outdoor Night Photography - Light Painting
Tue 4 May Print Competition 1 - Best Landscape Print - Dr Tom Peck (Bennett Trophy)
Wed 5 May Jubilee Cup - Barnet & Finchley - Prints & PDI's - Malcolm Rapier ARPS CPAGB EFIAP/b BPE5
Tue 11 May In-house competition: Recreate a Famous Painting (1 or 2)
Tue 18 May My Restless Lens - Dr Keith Snell LRPS EFIAP EPSA - wide-ranging talk on personal photography favourites
Tue 25 May Members' Projects - show us what you're working on
Tue 1 Jun Zoo Photography - Tal Chohan takes us through the challenges of getting high quality animal shots in zoos
Tue 8 Jun Photo Walk - location TBA
Sat 12 Jun Coffee Morning - TBC
Mon 14 Jun Potters Bar Trophy - Peter Prosser APAGB.  SPS competes againsts local clubs in a digital image competition hosted by Potters Bar Club. 
Tue 15 Jun Photo Walk
  SUMMER BREAK - no formal programme.  Keep an eye on email or WhatsApp for walks or outings
   
Tue 7 Sep Pub Night at Queens Head, Winchmore Hill. Photo sharing & catchup. Fingers crossed...
Tue 14 Sep Print Competition 2 - No set theme - Colin Strong LRPS CPAGB
Tue 21 Sep All Bar One, part 2 - Micki Aston CPAGB takes us through the second half of her tour of (almost) all the States of America
Tue 28 Sep Print Competition 3 - No set theme - Robin Claydon DPAGB LRPS BPE2
Tue 5 Oct Club Evening - details TBC
Tue 12 Oct Print Competition 4 - No set theme - Alison Jenkins DPAGB LRPS LMPA
Mon 18 Oct 8-way Print Battle, Edmonton CC hosting - Judge TBA. Southgate competes with 8 other local clubs in a print competition
Tue 19 Oct Club Evening - details TBC
Mon 25 Oct Ron Harvey Landscape Print Trophy - Potters Bar Club  - Chris Palmer FRPS DPAGB APAGB EFIAP. Southgate competes in a competition for best Landscape print
Tue 26 Oct Print Competiton 5 - "Monochrome" - David Steel DPAGB
Tue 2 Nov 3D & Panoramic Photography - Gareth Davies - a talk by a specialist on unusual shooting techniques
Tue 9 Nov Digital Image of the Year Competition - Amanda Wright - members submit their top three images of the past year for another chance of a trophy
Tue 16 Nov Print of the Year Competition - Panikos Hajistilly. Members offer their best three prints of 2021. 
Tue 23 Nov How did we do? Members discuss their images from 2021. Did the Judges understand? What worked and what didn't? An end of year review.
Tue 30 Nov President's Evening - Our President entertains us 
Tue 7 Dec Members' Christmas Dinner
   
Club competition/inter-club competition/Club evening/Speaker/Miscellaneous
Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In